Awhile back, I mentioned colouring my crinoline.  Well today I finally did it.  I would have done it sooner, but my seamstress had to hem it.  I just brought it home on Sunday night and this was the first time I've had a chance.  It isn't dry yet, but I am beyond happy with the results so far!
I dyed it in a plastic storage bin (I bought it at Target for like $3) because we juuuuust bought a brand new, super expensive front-loading washer that I didn't want to risk ruining.  Our tub is plastic, and I didn't want to dye that... so the plastic bin it was.

My slip is 100% nylon and, as you can see, the dye "stuck" just right.  I used 7 quarts (28 cups) of HOT water- I let it simmer on the stove before dumping it in the bin.  I added a cup of vinegar to help it soak as recommended by RIT, and added two bottles of aquamarine dye and 3 tablespoons of kelly green dye.

I am so in love with how it turned out and can't wait for it to dry so I can see the true colour!



Leave a Reply.